Quick Update On My Quest For Lowering My Ecological Footprint

Last week I set three goals to help lower my footprint, and they were:

  1. Reduce showers from 10-20 min, twice a day to only one 5 min long shower.
  2. Get my house to do a better job at recycling.
  3. Eat less meat (go from eating meat two meals a day to only twice a week), cut out all fast food, and buy organic produce.

I have good news and bad news… I’ll start with the bad news first: I haven’t done very well with my first goal of reducing my showering time. But the good news is that I have been doing really well with the other two! I have finished up all meat in my fridge and have not purchased anymore, and I have even been able to cut down the amount of meat I have consumed to three times in this past week. Much better than two times a day, seven days a week! I have also managed to purchase all organic food without going over my food budget, and not only that, but I have been using these really cool reusable, washable bags for my produce so that I don’t have to use any plastic bags at all.

mesh bags copy

Which leads me to my third goal, recycling. All of my roommates have done a much better job at recycling this week and I have even sorted through the garbage can to make sure that nothing that could be recycled was accidentally thrown in with all the landfill. Hopefully we will be able to keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

